Which would you choose between your religion and your job?

Etini

Valued Contributor
It is a well-known fact that the majority of the world's population believes in the existence of a supreme being who created the universe. Some people don't joke about their religious beliefs. What would you do if you are told to do something at work that compromises the beliefs of your religion? For instance, in my workplace as a teacher, I was asked to help the students answer questions in an external examination. That is against the moral standard of my religion and I refused. I was looked at with disdain by the management and other staff.

Imagine you are living out a career that you had always dreamt of. Then all of a sudden, you are required to do something that is against the morality of your religion. Would you stand for the job in the name of professionalism? Or would you place your religious inclination first? As for me, I would try to see where I can find a balance. If it can't balance, I would stick to my religion.

Kennysplash

Verified member
I don't think there should be a situation where one has to choose between religion and career. Career is what keeps you alive and pays for your bills, there is no way it should be competing with religion. We need to realize that religion won't feed us, even every religious book encourages working hard with our hands. Have you see a man skillful in his work? He will stand before kings, not common men says the bible. I'm sure every other religion book says something like that respectively.
Although religion might alter what we should do and not do when it comes to our jobs and careers, as long as we are not doing anything illegal then you are good to go. Many people have lost great jobs and opportunities because of religion. If you know what you are doing you will not let it interfere with your source of livelihood.

Etini

Valued Contributor