What do you think about male Nurses?

Bookwormlux

Valued Contributor
It is a common belief by so many people that nursing profession is a feminine profession and so men are not supposed to choose it as a career.
This is just one of the many misconceptions that people have about the nursing profession as a whole, because there are so many other misconceptions that people have about this profession.

I have read in some forums where people express their thoughts saying they won't allow a male nurse attend to them when in the hospital.

I am a nursing student in the university and there are also so many male students in the same department with me. It is not easy though, because so many people are already blinded by their vision of nursing profession being a feminine one and they would always ask us why we chose the nursing profession.
What do you think about men in the nursing profession?

I would love to read your thoughts about male Nurses.

arunima25

Verified member
Nursing is a profession and it's a noble profession. Well, it's a societal mindset and also cultural influences that makes us have such beliefs. Teaching younger children also is supposed to be more for ladies. But then people can choose the career if they are interested in it and feel that they can do justice to it. Your gender and sexual orientation should not matter. I had very good experience with male nurse

Sammyesx

It is normal for people to feel nursing is a feminine profession, because it is a generally belief that the female are better at caring and tenderness which is an important aspect of nursing. despite being a female dominated profession, the few males in the profession have proven to be as efficient as their female counterparts.

Bookwormlux

Valued Contributor