Is Teaching a good career

Carpon

Valued Contributor
In my locality, when people gather to list out careers in life a lot of times they fail to mention teaching especially at the secondary or high school level. They don't regard it as something someone could do and at the end of his life see himself as an achieved person.
So is it true that teaching is not a very good and credible career?
Well it depends on you and the kind of mindset you were given or you created for yourself.
Personally, I work as a teacher and I can attest to the fact that I feel good about it. At many times we may have our callings and preferred career choice but the mindset we have and circumstances around us also affect our choices not our convictions and talents plus the gift we have.
We go for the best paying profession not because if the driving passion but because of its prolificity and the huge amount of pay. Teaching in Nigeria is not regarded as a top ranking job due to the way teachers are not properly paid and are subjected to harsh and unfavourable conditions unlike other professions
That is why if you go to a class of students and make a statistics if every child's future ambition you may find no teacher but a lot of doctors and lawyers. Many at times people end up as teachers only when they are unable to fit into these careers they term and see as top ranking.
But indeed teaching is a very good career as far as you are aligned towards it. Never think you will feel accomplished when you seek a career you are not aligned to and at times our parents may be the main factor we pursue them.
Therefore make a critical step and think about what your field is.

Teaching is a good career, and through this career other career resulted, in my country many parents very bad when their children pursue a career of teaching, the look at it as a minor career but they fail to remember that most career they we're pursuing was made possible by a good teacher, who express love to their student.