Why do most hospitals have a similar unique smell?

Bookwormlux

Valued Contributor
I have been to different hospitals in my country either as a result of me being sick or going to check up on a loved one who has been hospitalized.
I have noticed that most of them tend to have a kind of smell that is common to them all, and this makes me want to know what could be really the source of this kind of smell and why is it common in almost all the hospitals?
Was this how all hospitals were designed to smell?

There are people who say they do not like the smell as it gives them a feeling of sickness and they relate it with death too. There are instances where some individuals throw up whenever they arrive a hospital venue because they have some sort of allergy to this smell.

What do you know about this smell?

Alexandoy

VIP Contributor
I am not a doctor or a chemist but the smell of the hospital is a mixture of the chemicals that are in use. Take for instance the alcohol which is prevalent now as protection against covid even commercial establishments smell of alcohol. Hospitals have the perennial use not only of alcohol but also of other liquid chemicals like bleach to clean the operating room.

Mika

VIP Contributor
All hospitals smell the same because they use the same thing to clean the tools, furniture, clothes, and the floor. The smell of the hospital is the smell of the chemical used in cleaning. They may not be using the same brand of cleaner but whatever cleaning agent they are using has more or less the same formulas.

Bookwormlux

Valued Contributor
All hospitals smell the same because they use the same thing to clean the tools, furniture, clothes, and the floor. The smell of the hospital is the smell of the chemical used in cleaning. They may not be using the same brand of cleaner but whatever cleaning agent they are using has more or less the same formulas.