What Does It Mean To Become a Freelancer?

Mika

VIP Contributor
Freelancers are professionals who work independently without being directly employed by a company. It does not matter what you do, what matters is you are working for short-term work instead of being employed for a long time. I have been working as a freelancer for over 2 years. For me being a freelancer means...

Freedom to work on versatile projects: I have worked on more versatile projects in the last 2 years as a freelancer compared to working in a company for 6 years.

Every day is the workday and every day is the payday: There is no monotony of going to the same workplace and working at the same desk on the same project and waiting for 30 days to get paid. These days, every day is a different day.

Bing your own boss: I sure have an employer but I don’t have a boss, if the employer tries to become too bossy, I can just tell him to shut up.

What are your reasons?

To be honest, I started calling myself "freelancer" because I just couldn't a regular job. I noticed it was a word that popped up in lots of search results, so I jumped on the bandwagon. LOL. When Google+ used to exist in my account description I used the letters BYOB for Be Your Own Boss. One thing you are right about is the fact that every day is a work day. However, for me every day is not always a pay day. Although I sure wish it was. :)

What does it mean to become a freelancer? For some, it may mean having the freedom to set your own hours and work from home. For others, it may mean being your own boss and having control over your own career. Whatever your definition, there are a few things that all freelancers have in common.