Can you make money Blogging?

Ages

Can you make money Blogging? Yes, you can. I've been blogging for about 8 years now. My blog is about personal finance blog. When I started the blog in 2009, I didn't know anything about blogging. but yet I was determined to start my blog.

I'm a financial advisor so initially the blog was started so that I could attract new clients to my financial planning practice. So I wrote content. I published blog posts, all trying to market myself and to get more visibility that people would see me and want to hire me. But then something funny happened. And I started to connect with other personal finance bloggers. And as I connected with them they shared with me that they were making money from their blogs. At the time that blew me away because I didn't know you could make money from blogging.

How do you make money from blogging?
That just sounds weird. But then one of these bloggers confided in me and shared how much he was making. And he told me he was making between $30,000 to $40,000 from his blog.
Now for most of you, making $30 to $40,000 from a website, that's pretty awesome. I mean that's almost an annual salary for many people.
But here's what blew me away. He wasn't making $30 to $40,000 a year from his blog, he was making $30 to $40,000 a month from his blog. How much did you say? Yes, you heard that right. $30 to $40,000 a month from a website.

Now, that got my attention. So I started to learn some of the basics of how to monetize my blog. So I learned how ads work. I learned how affiliates work and eventually I learned how to create digital products. Different ways that I can monetize my site and actually get paid for writing. And I'm not even that good of a writer. But here's some of the top things I learned from monetizing my blog and making my first $1,000.

Search engine optimization